ABP Live

Chennai, April 8 (IANS): Mumbai Indians (MI), trying to win their sixth Indian Premier League (IPL) title and full a hat-trick of titles will face Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), who’re but to win a title, within the inaugural recreation of the Indian Premier League 2021, right here on Friday evening.

The battle will probably be between two of India’s most interesting white-ball gamers. Each Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli are among the many finest worldwide batsmen in white ball cricket and are India’s most skilled gamers. Whereas Sharma will lead MI, Kohli will lead RCB.

On paper, MI are like a well-oiled machine. The gamers have been round for years and have tasted success. They know the method wanted to get success.

RCB, however, have at all times struggled to get their mixture proper. Typically, their middle-order batting has been discovered wanting whereas their tempo bowling has lacked selection.

Final 12 months although, they did nicely to make it to the play-offs and for this 12 months, they’ve introduced in some impression gamers like hard-hitter Glenn Maxwell and categorical tempo bowler Kyle Jamieson, who can even present hard-hitting possibility on the finish.

MI have received nearly double the variety of video games performed between the 2 groups over time.

Whereas MI have received 17 matches, RCB have received simply 9 matches.

The Mumbai franchise will little question go in as favourites once more within the event opener. However RCB’s power-packed line-up could shock them.

The massive fear for RCB could be Devdutt Padikkal. Whereas the left-handed opening batsmen, who impressed in his debut season with RCB in 2020, has joined the workforce after testing adverse for Covid-19 following a constructive take a look at, will probably be attention-grabbing to see if RCB play him within the event opener.

In Mumbai Indians’ case, they are going to be in two minds on South African wicketkeeper-batsman Quinton de Kock, who has simply arrived from an ODI collection at house in opposition to Pakistan.


Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli (captain), Devdutt Padikkal, Finn Allen (wicket-keeper), AB de Villiers (wicket-keeper), Pavan Deshpande, Washington Sundar, Daniel Sams, Yuzvendra Chahal, Adam Zampa, Shahbaz Ahmed, Mohammed Siraj, Navdeep Saini, Kane Richardson, Harshal Patel, Glenn Maxwell, Sachin Child, Rajat Patidar, Mohammed Azharuddeen, Kyle Jamieson, Daniel Christian, Suyash Prabhudessai, Okay.S. Bharat.

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (captain), Adam Milne, Aditya Tare, Anmolpreet Singh, Anukul Roy, Arjun Tendulkar, Chris Lynn, Dhawal Kulkarni, Hardik Pandya, Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), James Neesham, Jasprit Bumrah, Jayant Yadav, Kieron Pollard, Krunal Pandya, Marco Jansen, Mohsin Khan, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Piyush Chawla, Quinton De Kock (wicket-keeper), Rahul Chahar, Saurabh Tiwary, Suryakumar Yadav, Trent Boult, Yudhvir Singh.

Match begins at 7.30 pm.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here