Virat Kohli Named Skipper, R Ashwin Secures A Spot In Playing XI

ICC’s Test Team of the Decade: The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced its Men’s Test team adorned with the best players of the decade i.e. the last 10 years. Virat Kohli has been picked as the captain of ICC’s Test Team of the Decade. There are two Indians in this team in form of Virat Kohli and Ravichandran Ashwin. The maximum number of players (four) in this team are from England. These include Alastair Cook, Ben Stokes, Stuart Broad and James Anderson. Steve Smith and David Warner are the two Australian players in this team. Also, Kane Williamson from New Zealand, Dale Steyn from South Africa and Kumar Sangakkara from Sri Lanka are also part of it.

ALSO READ | ICC T20I Team Of The Decade: MS Dhoni Picked As Captain; Four Indians Included

The ICC, while announcing the Test team, said that it is a team that can bat all week. There are eight players in the ICC team who are still playing. There are three names, Sangakkara, Cook and Steyn who have announced their retirement. No players from Pakistan, West Indies and Bangladesh have secured a place in ICC’s Test Team of the Decade.

Cook and Warner have been picked in the Test team as openers. Kane Williamson, Virat Kohli and Steve Smith will have the number three, four and five batting spot respectively. Sangakkara will be the number six batsman along with wicket-keeping. The pace bowling will be commanded by the successful pair of Broad-Anderson. The duo will get support from sensational Dale Steyn and all-rounder Ben Stokes. Ashwin is the only specialist spinner in the team.

Earlier, ICC had also announced the Men’s T20I and ODI Team of the Decade. Former India player Mahendra Singh Dhoni was selected as the captain of both teams. Kohli is the only player who has made it to the ICC teams of all three formats. Apart from Tests, he is also a part of T20 and ODI team.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here