ABP Live

The excessive voltage Meeting elections in 4 states -Tamil Nadu, Assam, Kerala and Bengal and Puducherry is underway with greater than 20 crore individuals going to vote on Tuesday. The polls are essential with the outcomes from at this time will resolve the way forward for a lot of vital political figures and events in respective areas.

Tamil Nadu

Polling in 234 Meeting seats in Tamil Nadu began at 7 am on Tuesday. A complete of 3998 candidates together with heavyweights like Chief Minister Ok Palaniswami, deputy CM O Panneerselvam, DMK President M Ok Stalin, AMMK founder TTV Dhinakaran and Makkal Needhi Maiam President Kamal Haasan are within the fray. Additionally Learn: ‘My Entry Into BJP Gave Totally different Picture To The Social gathering’, Says Metroman E Sreedharan After Casting His Vote In Kerala

The Election Fee will probably be conducting the polls with due covid-19 well being protocols equivalent to checking the temperature of voters. Folks began lining up early within the morning eagerly to forged their votes. Actors Rajinikanth and Ajith Kumar had been among the many early voters within the metropolis.

Whereas the ruling AIADMK is searching for a 3rd time period, Stalin-led DMK is making a robust bid to return again to energy after a decade of stint in opposition. Polling additionally started in neighbouring Puducherry this morning.

The polling is seen because the game-changer for the state and decides the destiny of AIADMK, which received thrice or pave approach for the DMK after a decade in opposition.

West Bengal

Within the third section of high-octane polling in three districts of West Bengal on Tuesday, the state will witness a fierce battle between the ruling Trinamool, BJP and Left Entrance-led Sanjukta Morcha. The voting started at 7 am on Tuesday for 31 seats within the third section of the West Bengal meeting elections amid tight safety, as per PTI.

Voting is underway with strict adherence to Covid-19 protocols in 16 seats in South 24 Parganas district (half II), seven in Howrah (half I) and eight in Hooghly (half I), they mentioned. Over 78.5 lakh voters are eligible to train their franchise to resolve the destiny of 205 candidates.

The Election Fee has imposed prohibitory orders below Part 144 of CrPC in all of the constituencies, declaring them as ”delicate”. Tight safety preparations have been made to make sure peaceable voting, with 618 firms of central forces being deployed to protect 10,871 polling stations.

State police forces have even be deputed at strategic areas to help the central forces. The elections for the 294 meeting seats in West Bengal are being held in eight phases. The votes will probably be counted on Could 2.

The important thing candidates contesting embrace 13 girls, and distinguished names equivalent to TMC MLAs Ashima Patra (Dhanekhali) and Namita Saha ( Magrahat Purba), BJP chief Swapan Dasgupta (Tarakeswar) and CPI(M) chief Kanti Ganguly (Raidighi).  Of all of the candidates, the TMC and BJP have fielded 31 candidates every; 13 every by the BSP and CPI(M); seven by the Congress; two by the All India Ahead Bloc; one by the Revolutionary Socialist Social gathering; 68 independents; and 39 from different events.


Voting in Kerala has kicked off on Tuesday for the 140 seats amid heavy safety. ‘Metroman’ E Sreedharan, who’s the BJP-NDA candidate from Palakkad constituency was among the many early voters within the state. Kerala had witnessed a fierce marketing campaign within the run-up to the polls by the ruling CPI(M) led Left Democratic Entrance (LDF), Opposition Congress led United Democratic Entrance (UDF) and the BJP led NDA. Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan, seven of his cupboard colleagues, Opposition chief Ramesh Chennithala and senior Congress chief Oommen Chandy are among the many 957 candidates in fray within the state.

Voting is held amid strict adherence to Covid-19 protocol throughout the 40,771 polling stations within the state the place 2. 74 crore voters will resolve the destiny of the contestants.

The full voters contains 1,32,83,724 male voters, 1,41,62,025 feminine voters and 290 transgenders, in response to election fee figures. A complete variety of 202402 polling personnel will guarantee the graceful conduct of the elections and 97 per cent of the officers have been vaccinated, election fee sources mentioned.


Polling for 40 seats within the closing section of the meeting elections in Assam started at 7 am on Tuesday to resolve the destiny of 337 candidates, together with senior minister Himanta Biswa Sarma, his 5 cupboard colleagues and state BJP president Ranjeet Kumar Dass. The voting started within the 40 constituencies unfold over 12 districts. Elections are being held amid tight safety as 320 firms of safety forces had been deployed within the third section, the very best amongst all of the phases. A direct contest between nominees of the BJP-led NDA and Congress-headed Grand Alliance is on the playing cards in 20 constituencies whereas there’s a triangular battle, together with pleasant contests, within the remaining seats with the Assam Jatiya Parishad (AJP) being thought of because the third pressure.


The only-phase elections in Puducherry have kickstarted from Tuesday. The AINRC, which heads the NDA right here, is contesting from 16 of the overall 30 constituencies, whereas BJP is searching for election from 9 seats and the AIADMK from 5.

AINRC chief and former Chief Minister N Rangasamy are preventing elections from two segments-Thattanchavady and Yanam.

The important thing leaders are AINRC founder chief N. Rangasamy preventing from Thattanchavady in Puducherry and the lone seat in Yanam, an enclave of Puducherry in Andhra Pradesh. The Puducherry PCC president A.V. Subramanian will contest from his hometown of Karaikal (north).

The AIADMK convenors A. Anbalagan and Om Sakthi Segar are additionally within the fray from Uppalam and Orleanpet segments respectively. Anbalagan has been holding the Uppalam constituency consecutively since 2001. Om Sakthi Segar who was elected to the meeting on two events up to now from Nellithope has now moved to Orleanth which is new turf for him.

Narayanasamy, who headed the Congress authorities right here since 2016, has dropped out of the ballot battle.

The Congress has re-fielded its girl nominee Vijayaveny in Nettapakkam and equally, the AINRC has re-fielded B. Kobika and Chandrapriyanka in Thirubhuvai (reserved) and Neduncadu (reserved) constituencies respectively. The AINRC is searching for election from 16 seats after sharing the remaining 14 seats with BJP (9) and AIADMK (4).

Equally, the Congress is contesting in 14 seats and supporting an Unbiased in Yanam whereas its allies the DMK is searching for election from 13 seats.

(With inputs from PTI)




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here