Karnataka Panchayat Election Results 2020 LIVE Updates Bharatiya Janata Party Congress JDS In Fray

Karnataka Panchayat Election Results: Counting of votes for 5,728 gram panchayats in Karnataka that went for polls in two phases on December 22 and 27, began at 8 am on Monday.

As per the reports, 43,238 seats among a total of 91,339 in 5,728 Gram Panchayats went to the polls in the first phase on December 22, while voting for 39,378 seats took place in the second phase on December 27. The poll officials say that the results of all the seat are expected to be declared late as ballot papers were used in polls except in Bidar district where EVMs were used.

A total of 2,22,814 candidates were in the fray. Candidates for 8,074 seats have been elected unopposed. All three main contenders – Bharatiya Janata Party, Congress and the regional Janata Dal (Secular) – are looking to have their party workers elected to a majority of panchayats.


11:15 AM | Model Code of Conduct effective till 5 PM tomorrow

According to the State Election Commission, the model code of conduct will remain in effect till 5 pm on 31 December in the gram panchayat limits that went to polls.

11:00 AM | Counting of votes underway in Shivamogga, Davanagere

As reported by News agency ANI, Counting of votes for Local Body elections is underway at counting centre in Shivamogga, Davanagere

10:45 AM | BJP ahead of Congress, JDS In 3,422 seats

As per the latest trends, BJP is leading in 3,422 gram panchayats, Congress 1,580 and JD(S) 592.

10:30 AM | Counting takes place manually

Except Bidar district, polls for all other seats tool place using the ballot paper. Hence, the results are expected to get delayed.

10:20 AM | Who all are in fray?

A total of 2,22,814 candidates were in the fray. Candidates for 8,074 seats have been elected unopposed. It is to be noted that gram panchayat elections don’t happen on party symbols rather candidates contest elections independently (they are backed by parties). Bharatiya Janata Party, Congress and Janata Dal (Secular) are the main parties in Karnataka.

10:00 AM | BJP leads in 2,755 seats, Congress 1,475, JD(S) 547

Counting of votes for 5,728 Gram Panchayats in Karnataka has begun. As per the early trends, BJP is leading in 2,755 gram panchayats, Congress 1,475 and JD(S) 547.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here