ABP Live

Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman is being conferred with the Gandhi Peace Prize for the 12 months 2020. Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman is being honoured in recognition for his excellent contributions in direction of social, financial and political transformation by non-violent and different Gandhian strategies.

The Gandhi Peace Prize, an annual award instituted by Authorities of India since 1995 – the 125th delivery anniversary commemoration 12 months of Mahatma Gandhi – acknowledges Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman’s immense and unparalleled contribution in inspiring the liberation of Bangladesh, bringing stability to a nation born out of strife, laying the inspiration for the shut and fraternal relations between India and Bangladesh, and selling peace and non-violence within the Indian subcontinent.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, who chaired the jury for Gandhi Peace Prize, has stated that Bangabandhu was a champion of human rights and freedom, including he’s a hero to Indians as effectively.

READ: Former Mumbai Prime Cop Param Bir Singh Strikes SC, Seeks CBI Probe In opposition to Anil Deshmukh

He additionally stated that Bangabandhu’s legacy and inspiration has made the heritage of each international locations extra complete and deep-rooted, including the trail proven by Bangabandhu has laid a powerful basis for the partnership, progress and prosperity of each international locations over the past decade.

The jury, which additionally comprised two ex-officio members particularly the Chief Justice of India and Chief of the only largest Opposition celebration in Lok Sabha, met earlier on March 19 and after due deliberations unanimously determined to pick Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman because the recipient of the Gandhi Peace Prize for the 12 months 2020. Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla and Sulabh Worldwide Social Service Group Founder Bindeshwar Pathak had been additionally a part of the jury.

READ: Defined: What We Know Of The Violence In Delhi’s Sarai Kale Khan

The Gandhi Peace Prize is open to all individuals no matter nationality, race, language, caste, creed or intercourse. The award carries an quantity of Rs one crore, a quotation, a plaque andan beautiful conventional handicraft/ handloom merchandise.

The current Gandhi Peace Prize awardees embody Vivekananda Kendra, India (2015); Akshaya Patra Basis, India and Sulabh Worldwide (Collectively for 2016); Ekal Abhiyan Belief, India (2017) and Yohei Sasakawa, Japan (2018).

The previous awardees embody luminaries like Dr. Julius Nyerere, Former President of Tanzania; Dr Gerhard Fischer, Federal Republic of Germany; Ramakrishna Mission; Baba Amte; Late Dr. Nelson Mandela, former President of South Africa; Grameen Financial institution of Bangladesh; Archbishop Desmond Tutu of South Africa; Chandi Prasad Bhatt and Indian House Analysis Organisation (ISRO).



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here